St.Cecilia’s have a new website

The Benedictine Nuns of St.Cecilia’s Abbey on the Isle of Wight have a new website.

http://www.stceciliasabbey.org.uk/

You can even hear recordings of the community singing the Gregorian Chant they are so renowned for.

On the question and answers page, this particular response struck me :-

Why do you still sing your liturgy in Latin?

“If girls don’t know Latin when they enter – and they usually don’t know any – they learn it in the novitiate. It is astonishing how quickly you pick it up with one-to-one teaching and singing it in the liturgy several times a day. The same is true of Gregorian Chant. Most of us are not “musical”, but our choir mistress says she has found that anyone can learn to sing the Chant. People nowadays often use discipline in posture and breathing as aids to prayer, or learn to discern the promptings of the Spirit through their memory or imagination or emotions. Learning Latin and music for the sake of praying through the Chant is just another discipline which centuries of experience have shown to be a way to deeper union with God.”

2 thoughts on “St.Cecilia’s have a new website

  1. Tara Catherine Bernadette Connor says:

    I went to St Cecilias on the I.O.W. after cardinal newman for a retreat & because I was interested in becoming a nun there. It is a beautiful way of life. I loved the sweet sisters, I also went to the monks abbey there too. I cleaned for them, did my penance, vespers, & freezing cold showers in winter! Also they taught me some french, caligraphy and we made holy communion wafers together. I remember it being quite a heavenly experience. I loved the masses and hearing all about the religious way of life. They taught me pieces from the bible, the holy trinity, basically catholisism. It was a perfect way of life, but very strict & dedicated, truely inspirational.

Leave a Reply

