Where were you when Pope John Paul II died?

(Photo from the excellent Facebook page. The Papal Visit.)

Today is the 6th Anniversary of the death of Pope John Paul II. The night he died, I was sat on my own watching Sky News, gripped to the unfolding news coverage from Rome.

I watched the crowds in St Peter’s Square.  I wasn’t sure what to do. I left the house and walked through the streets near my home. I remember it seemed exceptionally quiet for a Saturday night in Brighton. I passed a Catholic Church nearby which I had never noticed before (that church was St Mary Magdalen’s.)  I would have gone in if it had been open. I felt a strong sense of being Catholic, of belonging to something that I had shunned since leaving school. A year later, during the Triduum, I took my first confession for many years and entered the church again.

Pray for the Beatification of John Paul II on May 1st.

Leave a Reply

