Music for 6th Sunday in Easter A

‘Two become One”  A confessional booth in Ronda, Spain
Hymns for the 6th Sunday in Easter  ‘mutual enrichment’ style:
The Introit is Vocem Iucunditatis
Spread the news with a voice of joy; let it be heard, alleluia speak it out to the very ends of the earth; the Lord has liberated his people. alleluia! alleluia!
Hymns:
Alleluia! Sing to Jesus
Praise the Lord Ye heavens adore Him
Praise my soul the King of Heaven
All People that on earth do dwell
The Offertory is Benedicte Gentes
O nations bless the Lord our God, let the voices of his praises resound, he has restored my soul to life and he has not suffered my feet to stumble, blessed be the Lord who has neither rejected my prayer nor turned his mercy away from me alleluia.
Hymns
O all ye nations, praise the Lord
Bless the Lord, my soul (Taize)
O Bless the Lord
God of mercy and compassion
I will not leave you orphans, I will come to you again, alleluia, and your heart will rejoice, alleluia.

Thematic Hymns for 6th Sunday in Easter: ‘God’s love for Us’

Love, divine, all loves excelling
Blest are the pure in Heart
God be in my head and in my understanding
Praise to the holiest in the height
God is Love, is the care
Love is his word, love is his way
The King of Love my Shepherd is
Praise my soul the King of Heaven
The Lord’s My Shepherd
Come Down O Love Divine
Breathe on Me O Breathe of God
Now the green blade riseth
O Praise Ye the Lord
This is my body, broken for you

Don’t forget it’s the last Sunday in May so how about a Marian Hymn for the Recessional

And if you have a CD of 1980s Responsorial Psalm settings at home, then you’ll probably like these:

Unless a grain of Wheat.
All you nations sing your joy.
YH, I know you are near.
Though the mountains may fall and the hills turn to dust.  REMEMBER THAT ONE?!!!
Leave a Reply

